My First Debate


I joined english debating society on 2005, while I spent my first 2.5year having fun at my uni…I must say its bit late for me to join the debate club. I always think joining debate would be awesome! But I dont hv the guts to join.
Well luckily I have some freaks fren that always ask me to come to the practice, iat first I always reject it coz I’m affraid I dont hv the ability to do so, but after months of asking me to join the club I do hv my guts to come…
At that time the debate club only have 2active member+me so they’re 3of us, and guess wht they ask me one-on-one debate to my fren who already experience with austral system, so 1 speaker did 3roles…
It was crazy, I dont even know how to debate,but screw the rules I just jump in to the debate…it was fun! I use all my brain’ energy to brainstorm the motion, and finally I just manage to speak 5-6mins out of 7mins n 20secs available…
I lost on my first debate, but thts the stand point where I do realize I hate the feeling of being a loser n at the same time I also realize tht I love becoming the center of attention….
Soon after my first debate, I just teamed up for JOVED, IVED, and ALSA my best achievement is breaks into quarters…still I hate the feeling of loosing a game. Finally the time has come for me to win the debate competition, it was a regional competition hosted by UNY, the final rounds was UII vs UGM and I won! Its just a small competition but I was so happy!
Lots of things came across me as I joined the club…friendships…adrenaline pump…laughs…dissapointment, etc
My advise for newbees…please dont be afraid to take ur chance to debate, its human actually to be afraid, but deep down I believe u know u hv to try, the feeling of intensive discussion during casebuilding with ur teammate, the adrenalline of 1st minutes of ur speech, and the amazing feeling of listening to judges’ verbal adjudication….its worth to try!
Debate is not exclusive! Debate is fun! Soo enjoy debating mate!

Just an average reasonable person who loves to debate….

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Leave a Reply

